Important Dates for Fall 2017

We have made it to August! With that comes some important dates to keep in mind. Below are a few:

AUGUST 2017

August 18, Friday
  • Application Deadline for Non-degree/Graduate Special Applicants
  • Final day to apply for change of residency for Fall Semester
August 24, Thursday
  • New Graduate Student Orientation/Reception
  • All residence halls open at 10:00 a.m., except Canada and Sierra
August 25, Friday
  • Final day for initial registration
  • Fall Semester fees due; final day to pay all fees without incurring late payment fees
  • First payment due for those students on payment plan
  • Opening Ceremony
  • Canada and Sierra residence halls open at 10:00 a.m.
August 26, Saturday Late fees assessed
August 28, Monday FIRST DAY OF CLASSES

 

SEPTEMBER 2017

September 1, Friday Final day to add or swap classes without permission from instructor
September 4, Monday Labor Day (no classes, campus closed)
September 7, Thursday
  • Final day to receive 100% refund if dropping individual classes or completely withdrawing from the university
  • Final day to change from a letter grade to S/U or S/U to a letter grade or audit to credit
  • Final day to add or swap classes with permission from instructor
  • No refunds after this date unless completely withdrawing from the university; 50% refund for complete withdrawal begins
September 25, Monday Second fee payment due for those on payment plan

 

You can find all these dates and many more using our Academic Calendar linked below:

 

https://www.unr.edu/academic-central/academic-resources/academic-calendar#Fall2017

 

 

Spring 2017 Commencement

All ceremonies will take place at the University Quadrangle. Bachelor’s, Master’s, and Doctoral degrees will be awarded at each ceremony. Tickets not required.

Thursday, May 18
5:00 PM

College of Engineering
College of Science
Orvis School of Nursing

Friday, May 19
8:00 AM

College of Business
Division of Health Sciences

Friday, May 19
5:00 PM

College of Agriculture, Biotechnology and Natural Resources
College of Education

Saturday, May 20
8:00 AM

Reynolds School of Journalism
College of Liberal Arts

For more information please navigate to the Commencement website here.

 

Fall 2017 Registration Dates

Fall Registration is underway. Below are the registration dates for students by standing:

Friday, March 31 – Priority Registration

Monday, April 3 – Graduate Students

Tuesday, April 4 – Friday, April 7 – Seniors

Monday, April 10 – Friday, April 14 – Juniors

Monday, April 17 – Friday, April 21 – Sophomores

Monday, April 24 – Friday, April 28 – Freshmen **please note: New Fall 2017 Freshmen admits will not receive an enrollment date, because they’re participating in Advanced Registration

Wednesday, May 10 – Open Enrollment (Non-Degree, Grad Special, etc.)


Students admitted for the Fall semester are able to register for Summer courses. In order to do so, they need to complete the “Summer Supplemental Form” under “Supplemental Forms” in MyNEVADA. Please allow 24 hours for the student’s account to be activated.